An adventure for characters level 1-13

Welcome to Baldur’s Gate, a city of ambition and corruption situated at the crossroads of the Sword Coast.

dnd baldurs gate Baldur's Gate: Descent Into Avernus

[su_button url=”″ style=”flat” background=”#49cbe1″ size=”5″ wide=”yes”]Order Descent Into Avernus from Amazon[/su_button]

You’ve just started your adventuring career, but already find yourself embroiled in a plot that sprawls from the shadows of Baldur’s Gate to the front lines of the planes-spanning Blood War!

Do you have what it takes to turn infernal war machines and nefarious contracts against the archdevil Zariel and her diabolical hordes? And can you ever hope to find your way home safely when pitted against the infinite evils of the Nine Hells?


This heroic Dungeons & Dragons adventure book takes players from levels 1 to 13 as they journey through Baldur’s Gate and into Avernus, the first layer of the Nine Hells.

Baldur’s Gate is among the most iconic locations in all of fantasy culture. A mist-cloaked metropolis on the Sword Coast, it’s a place of history and a home to heroes.

The book introduces the epic Infernal War Machines to fifth edition D&D—battle-ready vehicles which you can customize as you blast off into the Blood War.

Dungeons Masters will entice their heroes with devil’s deals, a unique set of game mechanics designed to lure adventurers with the ultimate temptations of power and treasure.

Table of Contents

Pronunciation Guide
About the Adventure
Adventure Overview
Adventure Background
Roleplaying Devils
Life in the Nine Hells

Ch. I: A Tale of Two Cities
Fall of Elturel
Evil in Baldur’s Gate
Running This Chapter
The Basilisk Gate
Elfsong Tavern
Dungeon of the Dead Three
Low Lantern
Vanthampur Villa
Under the Villa
Final Encounters in Baldttr’s Gate
Journey to Candlekeep
Getting to Avernus

Ch. 2: Elturel Has Fallen
Running This Chapter
Arrival in Eltttrel
High Hall
Grand Cemetery
Escaping the Siege

Ch. 3: Avernus
Running This Chapter
What Is Avernus?
Features of Avernus
Using the Poster Map
Fort Knucklebone
Raggadragga Attacks!
Warlords of the Avernian
Quest for the Sword
Haruman’s Hill
Hellwasp Nest
Path of Demons
Spawning Trees
Tower of thin
Mirror of Mephistar
Pit of Shummrath
Crypt of the Hellriders
Arches of Ulloch
Kostchtchie’s Maw
Path of Devils
Demon Zapper
Bone Brambles
Uldrak’s Grave
Arkhan’s Tower
Monument to Tiamat
Bel’s Forge
Wrecked Flying Fortress
Other Locations
Stygian Dock
Styx Watchtower
Sundered Chains
The Wandering Emporium
Zariel’s Flying Fortress
Roaming Encounter: Smiler the Defiler

Ch. 4: Sword of Zariel
Approaching the Citadel
The Scab
Entering the Citadel
Claiming the Sword

Ch. 5: Escape from Avernus
Who Should Rule Avernus?
Will Eltttrel Be Saved?
Endgame in Elturel

Baldur’s Gate Gazetteer
History of Baldur’s Gate
Baldttr’s Gate Today
Economy and Trade
Dangers in Balclur’s Gate
City Landmarks
Upper City
Lower City
Outer City
Beyond Baldttr’s Gate1
Baldur’s Gate Character
Dark Secrets

App. A: Diabolical Deals
Infernal Contracts
Archdevil Charms

App. B: Infernal War Machines
Stat Blocks.
Fiendish Variations
Chases on Avernus

App. C: Magic Items

App. D: Creatures
Cultists of the Dead Three
Fiendish Flesh Golem
White Abishai

App. E: Infernal Rapture Menus
App. F: Story Concept Art
App. G: Infernal Script

Maps 1.1: Baldur’s Gate
1.2: Elfsong Tavern
1.3: Dungeon of the Dead Three
1.4: Low Lantern
1.5: Vanthampur Villa
1.6: Under the Villa
2.1: Elturel
2.2: High Hall Cathedral
2.3: Hall High Cathedral
Choir Level
2.4: Hight Hall Catacombs
2.5: Grand Cemetery Chapel
2.6: Grand Cemetery, Ossuary Level
3.1: Avernus
3.2: Hellwasp Nest
3.3: Crypt of the Hellriders
3.4: Bone Brambles
3.5: Bel’s Forge
3.6: Wrecked Flying Fortress
3.7: Stygian Watchtower
4.1: Side View of the Scab.
4.2: Idyllglen
The Sword Coast
Baldur’s Gate
Players’ Map of Elturel
Players’ Map of Avernus

Featured Creatures

Abyssal chicken • Amnizu • Archdevil • Armanite • Babau • Barlgura • Barbazu • Bulezau • Chain devil • Cornugon • Death knight • Dragonborn • Dretch • Erinyes • Fiendish flesh golem • Flesh golem • Firbolg • Flameskull • Gelugon • Glabrezu • Hellwasp • Hezrou • Hollyphant • Human • Imp • Lemure • Maw demon • Merregon • Merrenoloth • Minotaur • Narzugon • Nalfeshnee • Night hag • Nightmare • Nupperibo • Osyluth • Otter • Pit fiend • Rakshasa • Red abishai • Redcap • Sibriex • Spinagon • Tiefling • Tortle • Tressym • White abishai • Yagnoloth

Release Date: Sep 17, 2019